The Three Musketeers

A Short Story

Arslan Ali
12 min readSep 14, 2020
Image by nightwolfdezines on Vecteezy.

When I heard the window open I swiveled around, and Ashley’s green eyes were staring back at me, floating in the ether.

Her face was almost pressed against the screen, lips curled in a playful smile. “Hi, Khal,” she said, even though her voice came muffled from the night outside.

I got up and walked over to the window, opening it, my face now inches from hers. But the screen stayed between us, pixelating her cheekbones.

“Um, hi,” I said, looking at her face, smiling, and moonlit, and beautiful, and split into a thousand little diamonds by the weave of the window screen.

She laughed, “Surprised?”

“Not really,” I reached forward and pressed the lock on the screen between us, dislodging it from the window. I placed it on the ground. “To what do I owe the pleasure?”

In one swift motion, she jumped through the window, into my room. That was the same way she had entered into my life: quick, fun, and seamless. “Tomorrow it’s Speak Your Thoughts Day.”

Every Winter, our school took one Saturday afternoon off from classes, and all students, faculty, and staff were required to go to the gym for Speak Your Thoughts Day. Usually, the speakers were small-time celebrities or small-time politicians or small-time academics…

--

--

Arslan Ali

Code artist by the day, writer by the night. Bookworm living in Italy.